More than just a mom

superwoman-blog-illustration3

Motherhood. What a wonderful, rewarding, challenging, sometimes humiliating, often tiring, awesome, exciting thing!

When I found out that my husband and I were expecting our beautiful daughter over 3 years ago it was one of the most amazing moments in my life. What would we name her? Would she have daddy’s hair or Mommy’s eyes? Would she cry a lot or be calm and quiet? Would she be logical, artistic, or both? Would she love animals? Would she treat herself and others with respect? Would she be close to her family? The questions went on and on and the endless possibilities ran through my head every time I glanced at my growing belly. A world of possibilities for a child not even born into the world yet!

On an unseasonably warm November day we got to meet our beautiful daughter and at least a couple of those questions were answered. Nadia entered the world with a cry loud enough to be heard down the long maternity ward halls. She had a head full of dark hair and some of the most beautiful blue eyes I’ve ever seen. It was instant love at first sight that only continues to grow with each passing day.

My sweet baby girl
My sweet baby girl

The first sleepless days at home with our newborn daughter passed and soon enough it was time for me to return to work. The first few days away from my new baby were hard (not surprising for any new mother) and tears were shed on my drives back to work each morning. I eventually got used to her being at daycare and quickly got back into my normal work routine.

After another year and a half of work, daycare, making dinner, running errands, going to bed, sudden serious family illness, etc. I decided I was ready for a change. We paid off my students loans, figured out when I was fully vested with my employer, and I finally gave my two weeks notice so I could stay home “full time” with our daughter. It was a decision I struggled with for months. What would I do to entertain a toddler all day? How would we be able to afford things? The list went on and on. After many late nights weighing the pros and cons of working versus staying home, we finally came to the conclusion that it was what was best for me, Nadia, and our family.

Are there days I wish I was still working? Yes.

Do I miss the extra income? Of course!

Do I feel incredibly grateful for the opportunity to get to experience every milestone my daughter passes every day? DEFINITELY!

This April marks the 2nd anniversary of me being a stay at home mom. Over these past 20 months I have done LOTS of laundry, cooked way more meals than ever before, ran errands, read stories, wiped tears, potty trained, planned and attended countless play dates and parties, made and supervised kid crafts, visited family, moved into a new home, and so much more! It’s seems kind of crazy but I honestly don’t remember being nearly this busy while I was working.

Outside of the stereotypical stay at home mom duties I also started my own Etsy business called Radiant Ray Design and have recently become an Event Organizer with an Indianapolis area non profit moms group called Hip Mamas of Indy. Through this awesome organization I’ve been able to make some amazing girlfriends and Nadia has been able to experience so many things I would have never even known about before becoming a part of the group. It’s also given me the chance to give back to the community through charitable giving to Indiana Center For Children & Families and more recently Indy Reads.

It’s my most sincere hope that the examples I show today will help my daughter grow into a strong smart independent woman who can accomplish anything her heart desires.

To all the fellow moms out there, you are strong, beautiful, and worth so much more than you’ll ever know.

Mommy and Nadia
Mommy and Nadia

Much love,
Esther

4 thoughts on “More than just a mom

  1. I like this post. You are definitely keeping busy and being a great role model for your daughter! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

